Tools I Use

I’m going to start a new feature here at Timeless Reunion called Tools I Use.  I’ll state upfront that I receive NO compensation nor am I endorsing any product….but these are research tools that I wouldn’t do without.

I am a Legacy Family Tree user.  I think its a great program and it helped me start this hobby with minimal investment by offering a free standard version.  Legacy has a lively, often rambunctious, User Group (LUG).  A few months ago, one of the users began sharing a series of small programs that really added tremendous value to the research process.  One of those tools was Census Finder.

As most of the genealogy databases do, Legacy allows you to connect an event to an individual when you are researching their life milestones.  For example, my grandfather can be found in the 1910, 1920 and 1930 census records.  In Legacy, this creates three separate “event” records (now there’s a whole ongoing debate at LUG having to do with lumpers and splitters and I’m not going into that here).  I use Census Finder to read the Legacy database and provide a report showing, at a glance, whether an individual in your databases is missing a census record.  This is extremely helpful when I’m in the mood to fill in the blanks in my research and will be a terrific tool when the 1940 US census becomes available to distinguish which ancestors you’ve found in your research. Great tool!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.